Area types supported by BuildingMinds

Below listed main area types are commonly utilized for calculating sustainability and lease management related KPIs. Other area types additionally provide more detailed area measurements, such as office areas or technical areas, yet are not typically utilized for above mentioned KPIs.

The following five area measurement types are supported by BuildingMinds including estimations. For more information, see Add area measurement and Area measurement estimations.

Area Type (respective standards)


Gross Floor Area (DIN 277-1, MFG, NA)

Gross floor area (GFA) measures the total interior floor space of a building, including all levels and enclosed spaces, from exterior walls. It's crucial for assessing building efficiency, zoning requirements, and construction costs, usually quantified in square feet or square meters.

Net room area (DIN 277-1)

The net room area (NRA), or net internal area (NIA), measures the usable space within a room, excluding structural elements, service installations, and circulation areas. It's expressed in square feet or square meters, providing insight into the functional space available for specific activities within a building.

Rentable area (MFG, NA)

The rentable area of a building encompasses the total floor area available for lease, crucial for property stakeholders in setting rental rates and assessing financial performance. It includes usable tenant space and shared common areas like lobbies and corridors.

Gross Internal Area (IPMS, RICS, NA)

The Gross Internal Area (GIA) of a building encompasses all enclosed floor space within its perimeter walls, including rooms, corridors, and other usable areas. It is measured to the internal face of the walls and includes spaces with a headroom of less than 1.5 meters if they are usable. GIA is typically measured in square feet or square meters.

Energy reference area (Not applicable)

The Energy Reference Area (ERA) of a building is the total floor area used to calculate energy consumption and performance metrics like Energy Use Intensity (EUI) and energy efficiency ratios. It ensures consistent and comparable measurements of a building's energy performance by focusing on spaces where energy is primarily consumed.

The following forty four area measurement types are supported by BuildingMinds but without estimations.

Construction Area (DIN 277-1)

Rentable exclusion (MFG, BOMA)

G-Workspace (IPMS)

Vacant area (BOMA)

Circulation Area (DIN 277-1)

Rentable area common occupancy (MFG, BOMA)

H-Other areas (IPMS)

Building service area (NA)

Net Usable Area (DIN 277-1 , RICS)

Rentable area exclusive occupancy (MFG, BOMA)

Boundary area (BOMA)

Landlord area (NA)

Technical Area (DIN 277-1)

Gross external area (IPMS, RICS, NA)

Building amenity area (BOMA)

Non-vegetated area (NA)

Living/Residence Area (DIN 277-1)

External Wall area (IPMS)

Floor service area (BOMA)

Total surface area (NA)

Office area (DIN 277-1)

A-Vertical penetrations (IPMS)

Tenant ancillary area (BOMA)

Vegetated area (NA)

Production/laboratory area (DIN 277-1)

B-Structural elements (IPMS)

Tenant area (BOMA)

Green ground area (NA)

Storage/distribution/selling area (DIN 277-1)

C-Technical services (IPMS)

Major vertical penetrations (BOMA)

Green roof area (NA)

Education/teaching/culture area (DIN 277-1)

D-Hygiene areas (IPMS)

Occupant Storage area (BOMA)

Green terrace area (NA)

Healing/care area (DIN 277-1)

E-Circulation areas (IPMS)

Parking area (BOMA)

Green wall area (NA)

Other uses (DIN 277-1)

F-Amenities (IPMS)

Unenclosed Building Feature: Covered Gallery (BOMA)

Land area (NA)